STATE OF FLORIDA

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER 19-281

(Emergency Management - Extension of Executive Order 19-189 - Hurricane Dorian)

WHEREAS, on August 28, 2019, I issued Executive Order 19-189, declaring a state of emergency for twenty-six counties due to the severe threat Hurricane Dorian posed to the State; and

WHEREAS, on August 29, 2019, I issued Executive Order 19-190, declaring a state of emergency for the entire state due to the projected path and intensity of Hurricane Dorian; and

WHEREAS, on September 1, 2019, Hurricane Dorian reached a Category 5, with wind speeds sustained at 185 miles per hour and gusts over 220 miles per hour, as it continued over the Bahamas and towards Florida's peninsula; and

WHEREAS, Hurricane Dorian traveled north along Florida's Atlantic Coast causing wind damage and beach erosion; and

WHEREAS, on October 7, 2019, I requested a Major Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Dorian; and

WHEREAS, on October 21, 2019, President Donald J. Trump approved the request and declared a Major Disaster due to Hurricane Dorian; and

WHEREAS, I, as Governor of Florida, am committed to providing all available resources and assisting our local communities with their recovery efforts; and

WHEREAS, no state of emergency declared pursuant to the Florida Emergency Management Act may continue for more than 60 days unless renewed by the Governor; and

WHEREAS, the following counties are still recovering from damage caused by Hurricane Dorian:

Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Martin, Nassau, Osceola, Palm Beach, Putnam, Seminole,

St. Johns and St. Lucie; and

WHEREAS, the effects of Hurricane Dorian pose a continuing threat to the health, safety and welfare of the State of Florida and its residents.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, RON DESANTIS, as Governor of Florida, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article IV, Section 1(a) of the Florida Constitution and by the Florida Emergency Management Act, as amended, and all other applicable laws, promulgate the following Executive Order, to take immediate effect:

Section 1. The state of emergency declared in Executive Order 19-189, amended by Executive Orders 19-190 and 19-206, will be extended for 60 days following the issuance of this order, to include only the following counties: Brevard, Duval, Flagler, Indian River, Martin, Nassau, Osceola, Palm Beach, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns and St. Lucie.

Section 2. All actions taken by the Director of the Division of Emergency Management as the State Coordinating Officer with respect to this emergency before the issuance of this Executive Order are ratified, and he is directed to continue to execute the State's Comprehensive Emergency Management Plan and other response, recovery, and mitigation plans necessary to cope with the emergency.

Section 3. Except as amended herein, Executive Orders 19-189, 19-190, 19-206 and 19-234 are ratified and reaffirmed.



IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Florida to be affixed, at Tallahassee, this 19th day of December, 2019.

RON DESANTIS, GOVERNOR

ATTEST:

ECRETARY OF STATE

119 DEC 19 PM 3: 31