May Severe Weather Updates For Recovery Information

January Severe Weather Updates For Recovery Information

Emergency Info for Idalia Emergency Info for Idalia

Tropical Storm Nicole For Recovery Information

Hurricane Ian For Recovery Information

Public Notices Read Here

Flood Mitigation Assistance Program

The Flood Mitigation Assistance Program is funded by FEMA and administered through a partnership with the Florida Division of Emergency Management (FDEM). FDEM has the authority and responsibility for developing and maintaining a State Hazard Mitigation Plan, reviewing Flood Mitigation Assistance Program subapplications, recommending technically feasible and cost-effective subapplications to FEMA and providing pass-thru funding for FEMA-approved and awarded project grants to eligible subapplicants.

The FY 2023 Flood Mitigation Assistance Application Period is now closed.

The Florida Division of Emergency Management (FDEM) accepted eligible subapplications for the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program from entities that submitted a Notice of Interest (NOI) form by FDEM’s deadline (August 31, 2023, 5:00 p.m. EDT) for an eligible project.

FY 2024 Flood Mitigation Assistance information will be posted here once FEMA publishes the Notice of Funding Opportunity later this year.

Have Questions?

E-mail our Non-Disaster Program:


Flood Mitigation Assistance Application Resources

Notice of Interest

Eligible Subapplicants are:

  1. State Agencies
  2. Federally-Recognized Tribes
  3. Local Governments/Communities
  4. Federally-recognized Native American Tribal Governments

Local governments/communities may include non-federally recognized tribes, or consistent with definition of local government at 44 CFR 201.2, may include any Indian tribe or authorized tribal organization, or Alaska Native village or organization that is not federally recognized per 25 U.S.C. 479a et seq.

Owners of structures, residential or non-residential, that have been previously flooded and desire to have their structure mitigated should consult with their local or Native American Tribal government about submitting an application on their behalf for grant funds. Applications must be submitted by an eligible subapplicant.

Eligible Project Activities:

Eligible mitigation projects include:

  • Property Acquisition and Structure Demolition or Relocation
  • Structure Elevation
  • Mitigation Reconstruction
  • Dry Floodproofing
  • Localized/Non-localized Flood Control Projects
  • Structural Retrofitting and Non-structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings and Facilities
  • Infrastructure Retrofit
  • Soil Stabilization
  • Community Flood Mitigation Projects
  • Project Scoping
  • Flood Mitigation Plans

The activities above, although eligible, must also meet the following minimum criteria in order to be considered for funding:

  • Be cost-effective 
    A project must be cost-effective and substantially reduce the risk of future damage, hardship, loss or suffering resulting from a major disaster. This requirement is satisfied by performing an analysis to determine whether the benefits to be gained are at least equal to or greater than the cost of the project.
  • Be technically feasible 
    The project must use flood resistant design and construction methods and flood resistant materials that are accepted by the design and construction industry, as well as the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Also, a clear description of the proposed methods should be provided in the eGrant application's scope of work.
  • Located in or benefits an NFIP-compliant community 
    An eligible project must be physically located in a participating NFIP community that is not on probation, suspended or withdrawn from the NFIP, and the project must benefit such a community directly by reducing future flood damages.
  • Conforms to the State's Administrative Plan 
    All subapplicants must have a FEMA-approved and locally adopted mitigation plan by the application deadline and at the time of obligation of grant funds.
  • Complies with environmental laws, regulations and executive orders. Comply with Executive Order 11988 (Title 44, CFR, Part 9 - Floodplain Management and Protection of Wetlands), Environmental Considerations and the National Environmental Policy Act [NEPA] (Title 44, CFR , Part 10).
  • Be in conformance with the minimum floodplain management regulations of the NFIP (Title 44, CFR, Sections 59 and 60.3) and the local government's Community Rating System Program, if applicable. 

The traditional FEMA-approved software-based BCA Flood Modules to determine the cost effectiveness of a project must be used. Subapplicants must use a FEMA approved methodology to perform a BCA. Only project subapplications that demonstrate cost-effectiveness through a benefit cost ratio of 1.0 or greater will be considered. The BCA must be attached to the subapplicant's application. The FEMA approved BCA Toolkit, which includes the Flood Modules, may be downloaded at no cost at The BCA Helpline may be contacted by telephone (866.222.3580) or via e-mail (

Pre Calculated Benefits Memo for Acquisitions and Elevations 09-29-21

Pre Calculated Benefits Memo for RL and SRL Projects Located Outside the Designated SFHA 02-15-22

Enviromental Benefits Memo 06-18-13

HMA Sea Level Rise Memo 12-23-13

As appropriated by the Consolidated Appropriations Act, the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Grant Program provides resources to assist states, tribal governments, territories and local communities in their efforts to reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures insurable under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) as authorized by the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended.

Applicants and Subapplicants must have a FEMA approved mitigation plan as of the application deadline in order to apply for mitigation projects in accordance with Title 44 CFR Part 201.

Cost-Share Requirements


  Mitigation Activity
  (Percent of 

  FMA - insured properties and planning


  FMA - repetitive loss property 

  • Insured property with at least 2 flood claims where the repairs equaled or exceeded 25% of the market value of the structure at the time of the flood event.
  • At the time of the second occurrence, the flood insurance contract must include increased cost of compliance coverage.


  FMA - severe repetitive loss property 

  • Insured property with flood history of 4 or more separate claims of $5,000 each with cumulative total exceeding $20,000 or
  • At least 2 claim payments where the cumulative amount of 2 claims exceeds the market value of the structure.





FEMA has developed resources to assist subapplicants with project and planning subapplications. The resources can be found on the HMA Application Development and Process web page.

Publications and tools for the FMA program can be found in the links below:

State of Florida 
Division of Emergency Management 
Flood Mitigation Assistance Program 
2555 Shumard Oak Boulevard 
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2100

(850) 815-4532

Back to Top